EUROPE: Third Country Operators (TCO)

Declan Selleck 26 August, 2017



A TCO is an authorization issued by EASA to any third-country operator wishing to perform commercial air transport in any of the following European countries:

- 28 EU Member States
- Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland

Plus the following territories:

• Gibraltar, Aland Islands, Azores, Madeira, Canary Islands, Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique, Reunion, Saint-Martin, Mayotte

Applications are made directly to EASA using their application form.

https://www.easa.europa.eu/document-library/application-forms/fotco00160

You will need to provide the following documentation:

- AOC
- Operating Specifications
- Insurance

Contact details for applications are made to:

European Aviation Safety Agency

Applications Handling Department

Postfach 10 12 53 D-50452 Köln Germany

Fax: +49 (0)221 89990 ext. 4461

E-mail: tco.applications@easa.europa.eu

Should EASA deem the application in order the operating authorization process is completed in approximately 30 days. Some flights can avoid this requirement, such as Air Ambulance or Humanitarian flights.

Please note:

- Overflights of the above states do not require a TCO permit.
- EU member states cannot issue a permit for their country if the operator does not already hold a TCO operating authorization.

If you plan to operate to these areas, we'd suggest getting your TCO right away, even if you don't have a planned flight at the moment. They can take some time to obtain.